University of Mobile Jazz Band to Perform Popular Disney Songs at April 7 Concert

garrett News

The University of Mobile Jazz Band will present songs from “The World of Walt Disney” April 7, featuring some of Disney’s magical songs from popular Disney movies.

Among the Disney songs the UMobile Jazz Band will perform are ”Mickey Mouse Medley,” “Whistle While You Work,” “Mickey Mouse Club March,”  “You’ve Got A Friend In Me,” “The Incredibles,” “Zip-A-Dee-Do-Dah” and “Beauty & the Beast.”

The UMobile Jazz concert will begin at 7 p.m. at the Saraland Performing Arts Center in Saraland High School. General admission is $10. Advance tickets are available at and also at the door on the night of the performance. For information, call Shadoe Valentin at 251-442-2383.

Kenn Hughes, assistant professor of music at the University of Mobile, said several of the arrangements the UMobile Jazz Band will perform were written by Terry Winch, who played trumpet at Disneyland and Walt Disney World. Winch also wrote many arrangements for Disneyland and Walt Disney World parks as well as Tokyo Disney.

Hughes, who is UMobile’s director of instrumental studies, Jazz Band and RamCorps, also has a connection to Disney.

“When in college at the University of Oklahoma, I auditioned and was selected for the Walt Disney World All-America College Band,” said Hughes. “As an adult, I performed with The World Band and Kids of the Kingdom at the Magic Kingdom, and Solid Brass in EPCOT.”

Students in the UMobile Jazz Band who are performing are: Cooper Bascom, trumpet and vocal; Todd Bosarge, trombone; John Calcote, trombone; Nate Carroll, trumpet; Sam Cruz, trombone; Julianna Fisher, trumpet; Coltin Fortner, tenor sax;

Melinda Gillis, trombone; Sam Hancock, trumpet; David Haney, bass trombone;

Matt Henson, drum set; Kendon Hughes, bari sax; Adrienne Johnson, drum set;

Michael Jolly, alto sax; Rebekah Lipscombe, piano; Jesus Morales, trumpet; Sarah Raye, alto sax; Ryan Reister, trombone; Chris Rowell, tenor sax; Micah Steadham, trumpet; Kristina Swearingen, bass; Matt Taylor, trumpet; A.J. Torbert, bass trombone; Zac Wood, guitar and Samuel Wright, piano.

Vocalists are: Christina Jones, Josh Hill, Ashton Lewis, David Robbins, Collin Clardy and Hannah Cherry.

For information about the University of Mobile, visit or call Enrollment Services at 1.800.WIN.RAMS or 251.442.2222.

About the Author