University of Mobile Presents Megginson Awards, Recognizes Faculty and Staff at Spring Luncheon

Kathy Dean News Leave a Comment

Megginson Award recipients at University of Mobile are, from left:  Kristie Sanders, Dr. Troy Henderson, Barbara Brousseau.


MOBILE, Ala. – University of Mobile’s highest faculty and staff honors, the Megginson Awards, were presented at the annual year-end faculty-staff luncheon May 9 at Ram Hall on campus. The university also announced promotions, service awards and recognitions.

The Megginson Awards recognize outstanding contributions to the university in the areas of teaching, research and service. Recipients are chosen by committees of peers from among nominations sent by students, faculty and staff. The recipients are honored for their character, ethics, accomplishments and contributions to the university.

The 2017 William A. Megginson Teaching Award was presented to Barbara Brousseau, enrollment services – assistant professor of French.

The 2017 Emma Frances Megginson Service Award was presented to Kristie Sanders, admissions information specialist, principal designated school official.

The 2017 Mitford Ray Megginson Research Award was presented to Dr. Troy Henderson, professor of mathematics. Henderson was also presented with a university medallion in recognition of his recent promotion to full professor.

Service awards were presented to faculty and staff for years of service. Employees are honored at five-year marks.

35-Year Service Award: Steven Carey, Dr. Audrey Eubanks

30-Year Service Award: Dr. Kathy Sheppard

25-Year Service Award: Dr. Nancy Huff, Barbara Greene, Uwe Tittl, National Plant Service employee Kim Browder

20-Year Service Award: Dr. Katherine Abernathy; Dr. Jane Finley; Aramark employees Debra Adams, Hines Croshon, Freda Jemison; National Plant Service employee Kenneth Handy

15-Year Service Award: Dr. Jay Robertson, Eileen Gardner, Cindy Godwin, Kathryn Hollingsworth, Neal Ledbetter, Lesa Moore, Brian Person, Kristie Sanders

10-Year Service Award: Phillip Counselman, Dr. Troy Henderson, Dr. Amy Taylor, Sally Shouppe, Darlene Smith

Five-Year Service Award: Dr. Carolyn Corliss; Dr. Matthew Downs; Steve Dunn; Dr. Kathryn Hedlund; Alison Henry; Dr. Gyromas Newman; Chase Alford; Dana Allen; Billy Dock Evans; Jeremy Harford; Paige Hill; Tracie Marks; Kristopher McAuley; Aramark employees Cathy Caples, Luke Morris and Terrance Murphy

Kim Browder, director of facilities and public safety, is one of three finalists for Security Director of the Year by Campus Safety Magazine. The winner will be announced at the National Safety Conference on July 13 in Philadelphia, Penn.

The university’s public safety officers were honored for marksmanship and service.

Marksmanship Award: Captain Dave Sumner, Officer Shaine Edmondson, Sergeant Shaneka Thomas, Officer Jason Dueitt, Officer Taylor Everett, Officer David English, Officer Markell Carter.

Service Award: Officer Mitchell Wade, Officer Shaine Edmondson, Sergeant Shaneka Thomas


About University of Mobile:
University of Mobile is a Christ-centered liberal arts and sciences institution with a vision of higher education for a higher purpose, founded to honor God by equipping students for their future professions through rigorous academic preparation and spiritual transformation. Core values are: Christ-Centered, Academically-Focused, Student-Devoted and Distinctively-Driven. The university offers on-campus and online bachelor’s and master’s degree programs in over 40 areas of study. Founded in 1961, University of Mobile is affiliated with the Alabama Baptist State Convention and is located 10 miles north of Mobile, Alabama on a campus of over 880 acres. For more information about University of Mobile, visit the website at or call Enrollment Services at 1.800.WIN.RAMS or 251.442.2222.

About the Author
Kathy Dean

Kathy Dean

Kathy is an award-winning public relations professional and former journalist with a strong background in strategic communications, feature writing/story-telling, copywriting and editing. She serves as assistant vice president for university communications. Kathy joined the University of Mobile marketing/public relations staff in 1993 and has earned awards for writing, public relations and advertising, including twice receiving the grand prize for feature writing from the Baptist Communicators Association. She serves on the board of the John M. Will Scholarship Foundation, awarding scholarships to promising student journalists; and is a member of the Public Relations Council of Alabama, Baptist Communicators Association and Society of Professional Journalists. Kathy lives in Daphne with her husband, Chuck, who earned his M.B.A. from University of Mobile. They have two children and two grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.